Skip to content

The Streisand Effect

April 15, 2010

There’s something called the Streisand Effect that the Church is apparently not aware of.

And please, don’t tell them about it. I’d like them to remain blissfully ignorant!

Wikipedia describes it this way: “The Streisand effect is a primarily online phenomenon in which an attempt to censor or remove a piece of information has the unintended consequence of causing the information to be publicized widely and to a greater extent than would have occurred if no censorship had been attempted.”

It’s named for a 2003 incident in which photographer Kenneth Adelman published a collection of 12,000 aerial photographs of the California coastline, to document coastal erosion. One of the photographs, as it happened, showed Barbara Streisand’s beachfront mansion. She attempted to sue Adelman to have the photograph removed. As a result, the photograph went viral on the internet, and soon everyone had seen it. Had she done nothing, no one would have noticed it on an obscure website.

You would think that the Church would know this phenomenon well.  After all, it was their bumbling attempts to remove the famous video of Tom Cruise from the internet in January 2008 that first angered internet censorship activists, leading to the formation of Project Chanology and the worldwide Anonymous protests. The Church could have avoided all of that if they had just let the video ride and slowly die out. No one would have noticed.

Well, the latest person to stumble into the Streisand Effect is lawyer-to-the-stars Bertram Fields, who should know better.  Fields got wind that Amy Scobee’s new book, due for May release, mentions his uber-Scientologist client, Tom Cruise. So Fields, of course, writes Amy a threatening letter. One has to wonder, what did Bert Fields think was going to happen?

Well, of course, the inevitable happened. Within a few hours, his letter was posted on the internet, right on Marty’s blog.

Now, keep in mind, Amy’s book is not even published. But Fields proceeds to lay out, in detail, the allegations that he thinks Amy makes against his client. And of course, by doing so, he provides prime fodder for every newspaper, magazine and online gossip blog on the planet. And so what happens next? You guessed it, the story goes viral.

Now, Amy is swamped with requests for interviews from all major media. Everyone wants to run the story.

Not only that, but she’s also swamped with calls from people corroborating her story and offering up more juicy details about Church meddling with Cruise’s life. And calls from lawyers all over the country offering advice and encouragement.

If Fields had just ignored Amy’s book, none of this would have happened. But no, he had to write a threatening letter! And the result is very, very predictable.

If you look at it, Fields did all the work. The book isn’t even out yet! Amy has made no accusations. Fields himself detailed the accusations, then denied them, all in writing.

You would think that Fields, Cruise and the Church of Scientology would learn a lesson from all this. But they won’t.

By the way, one of the accusations that Fields is so upset about is a story Amy apparently relays telling how Shelly Miscavige told her that Cruise could not join the Sea Org due to his “drug history.” And now Fields wants to take this to court? Good! Then the church will have to produce Shelly as a witness – and that will be the first time she’s been seen in five years.

44 Comments
  1. Nomnom permalink
    April 15, 2010 2:48 am

    Shhhhhhhh! Not so loud.
    Did the pharmas send Bert his check yet?

  2. April 15, 2010 4:19 am

    Jeff,

    That picture is so apropos.

    Your aim so true.

    Unlike you know who…..

    🙂

  3. Sinar permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:24 am

    Very interesting article Jeff and spot on as usual. I’m also having to answer emails for reporters checking out the story in order to help Amy with my knowledge and having been on Service lines.

  4. sherrymk permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:27 am

    I guess that Tom and Miscabbage aren’t aware that Fields is on Amy’s payroll. Nothing could have promoted her book better than this little faux-pas. I imagine she’ll be contacted by some talk show hosts too! Go Amy!!!

  5. lunamoth permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:39 am

    God, this just gets better and better.

    I’m making popcorn, save my seat!

  6. Heather G permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:54 am

    Tee hee hee.

    Bert, meet the internet.

  7. TRUTH permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:50 am

    All the power to Amy Scobee!!!! Go Girl, you are winning big time and Field, TC and DM are the huge losers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Thank you Jeff for putting the truth out.

  8. PlanetaryClearing permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:04 am

    Definition of the word ‘Bert’

    Dumb ass

  9. Rebecca-Tribecca permalink
    April 15, 2010 9:28 am

    Yes, the ever growing Anonymous sprung into existence over the clamping down of FREE SPEECH on the Tom Cruise video.

    Anonymous now has some 27,000 registered members.

    A Classic Barbara Streisland Effect.

    In the United Kingdom, in 1986 a tiny little group of environmentalist “Green Peace London” handed out some pamphlets alleging things like ~~

    Macdonalds
    Wastes vast quantities of grain and water destroys rainforests with poisons and colonial invasions;
    Sells unhealthy, addictive junk food;
    Exploits children with its advertising;
    Is responsible for torture and murder of animals etc.

    Less than 300 pamphlets were distributed. No Internet Websites, no YouTube, we are talking 1986.
    Macdonalds went ballistic. They went into warfare mode with the lawyers for the next 10 YEARS ! It was the longest running Court Action in English History.

    A true David and Goliath. Macdonalds infiltrated this little group even had one of their spies
    SLEEP with one of Greenpeace.

    Sound familiar ? (Paulette Cooper)

    The Lawyers advised LIBELS suits which went on and on and on costing Macdonalds Multi MILLIONS of pounds. The defendants spent $30,000.

    In the long run, no one won, but all the DIRT on Macdonalds was exposed in Court day after day, month in and month out, year in and year out especially their contribution to the destruction of the rain forest and the cruelty in the slaughter houses.

    They came to be known as the “MCLIBEL TWO” ~~ 2 little Londoners against a barrage of Mcdonald in-house lawyers. So of course a movie was made ~~ full length feature film
    (Documentary) called MCLIBEL.

    It was shown at film festivals worldwide, and bought for TV in about ten countries. It was was released theatrically in the UK, USA, Australia and other countries and sold to TV round the world, notably to BBC2 where it achieved one million viewers at 10pm on a Sunday night) and CBC in Canada.

    As of August 2004 the producers estimate that more than 25 million people have seen the film.

    Talk about a Streisland effect ! Mcdonalds actually funded by their own stupidity an anti-Mcdonald documentary !

    In the Church, no overt, no crime is too much over the line to shut up critics and prevent Bad PR.
    Anything goes to prevent FREE speech if it is critical in anyway of the Church.
    Blackmailing the disconnection of family is a tool in trade.
    Again this is to stop the flow of speech between family members.

    And the complete backflip is that the Church Creed says the group’s intention is to give freedom of choice and spiritual freedom.

    • lunamoth permalink
      April 16, 2010 1:03 am

      Wow, a great story, RT, and an perfect example of this very effect.

      And isn’t it just so … satisfying. Isn’t justice, however it’s come by,
      such a beautiful thing!

  10. Fidelio permalink
    April 15, 2010 9:46 am

    Jeff,

    you are TOO much!!!

    Seeing the picture of the suicide gun and the conspiratorial shhhhhh two sentences later floored me with an unleashed roaring laughter I VERY seldom ever heard from myself.

    Thank you for making my day! Fidelio

  11. April 15, 2010 1:25 pm

    Nothing better than 3rd party advertising. (not 3p in the scn way — but someone not connected!)

    By the time, your book Jeff – gets published it will be on the best seller list before it’s publication!!

    As Tory Magoo Bezazian Christman is so fond of saying to dm — tick tock …

    (BTW — I’ve known Tory since the early CC days — as first I was DISMAYED that she left, myself firmly in the grip of delusion — then I’ve read her posts on “the other site” 🙂 — and through the years watched how balanced and kind she is — it’s delightful to see, I have to say — so — hello Tory if you read this)

    (Sorry Jeff to use your blog to say hi — but that other site is 1) closed for new posters 2) still too radical for me — not kind enough –)

    Kindness — without which why bother breathing!!

    Love,
    WH

  12. David L. permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:18 pm

    This whole…situation with the CoS has got some real entertainment value doesn’t it?
    I mean, there’ comedy, tragedy and drama rolled up into the most fantastic package imaginable.
    It’s a high stakes poker game with everyone of us “all-in” and hanging on the edge of our seats to see how the winning hand plays out.
    Great theater!
    Thanks Jeff

  13. Impressive person permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:32 pm

    Hi Jeff,

    In ‘Counterfeit Dreams’ you mentioned “how the church was behind the times as usual by missing the arrival of the CD”, it appears that this organization is generally not very quick to adapt to a changing environment – given that everything is based on extreme micro-management that is not really surprising, right?

    Intimidating critics has proven to be very successful for a long time, maybe they’re still adapting? Since everything Scientology does involves ‘perfect and workable technology’ there might be an inherent unwillingness to evaluate. And who would have the guts to lecture the tiny terror? You know best how Miscavige interpretes the touch assist.

    Keep going, while Scientology fires footbullet after footbullet, every blog post on this site is like a shot fired from a sniper rifle.

  14. Moving Forward permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:42 pm

    Another great article and all too true. I’m rather surprised it’s not called the ‘Scientology Effect’, to be honest, considering that it was the whole attempt to ‘rmgroup’ ARS (‘rmgroup’ is a command to remove the group and ARS is alt.religion.scientology, a usenet group) that really kicked the whole ‘Scientology vs. the Internet’ thing off in the first place back in the 90’s. Most of the bad PR Scientology has received, at least in the last few decades, has been self-inflicted.

    The shackling of freedom of speech, including hateful speech, has *always* really bothered me. Isn’t communication supposed to be the universal solvent? (and as I write this, I realize that I let my own freedom of speech within the Church be shackled for so many years…)

    Hate crime laws are another example of this. These kinds of laws are an attempt at thought and behavior control. I’m sorry, but a crime is a crime. Legislating thought goes very much against what I’ve read by LRH on this theme, but because hate crime laws can be ‘used against critics, the Church supports them. WTF?

    • April 16, 2010 12:42 am

      MF,

      I remember the Cobra’s (Helena Cobrin) futile attempt to shut down ARS which was the beginning of their whole foot bullet dance.

      Followed by “Freedoms” convoluted “logic” that suppressing free speech was a good thing.

      That was definitely an article I burned after reading!

      Any way watching the Church after that was sorta similar to watching a train wreck in slow motion.

      • Moving Forward permalink
        April 16, 2010 4:41 pm

        Yeah, much like the RIAA and other corporations, the Church does not understand and fears the internet.

        I don’t remember that Freedom article… Any idea when it was from? Mid to late 90’s I’m guessing?

        I always thought the whole Tom Cruise youtube video debacle was interesting. I personally thought that whole video was hugely embarrassing, so I wouldn’t want people seeing that as a representation of Scientology, but apparently it was supposed to be ‘great and amazing’. So why did OSA go so batshit over it being posted on youtube? Haven’t we as Scientologists been told over and over that we should bring ‘new people’ to events? Did they finally realize that it made Cruise look nut butters?

  15. Martin permalink
    April 15, 2010 10:53 pm

    So many great comments from so many fine people – Jeez, I love reading this blog – and Marty’s. Thank you Jeff and all the wonderful people who contribute.

    The Streisand Effect reminded of how this concept can be taken one stage further. In the brilliant book Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams (of Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy fame) Dirk, while at Cambridge, planted the seeds of ideas in the minds of others by pure denial. People were drawn into stories he denied about himself, but what the source of these stories were, other than his own denials, was never entirely clear. He managed to create a belief amongst other students that he had some sort of psychic abilities not by professing to having any; he denied that his family had links with the more fashionable end of Transylvania. He strenuously denied there were bats of any kind in his family – indeed he threatened to sue anybody who put forward any such malicious fabrications.

    Perhaps the Church could use this tech. Maybe it thinks it already is. Although I am struggling to imagine anybody even listening to anything the Church says these days – much less granting it any credence.

    • Moving Forward permalink
      April 16, 2010 4:47 pm

      Martin – slightly off topic here, but I love Douglas Adams. One of my top 3 favorite writers for sure. It’s too bad he never got to see Hitchhiker’s Guide finally made into a movie. I know many fans were of a split opinion on it, but I thought it was very true to the spirit of HHGTG. Plus, lots of great little bits included just for us diehards.

  16. April 17, 2010 2:27 am

    While I have not had the energy this week to be my usual verbose self, I have at least had energy enough to read both Jeff and Marty’s new posts and all the comments. And, as always, my perspective really gets a workout in doing so. As I was reading down through all the comments posted thus far on this very informative blog post of Jefff’s, I was temporarily bounced into some other zone. This zone is one that I occasionally, and always quite suddenly, find myself in and without fail the same question (it seems to be more rhetorical than not) is uttered…”WTF? How did this happen? How did I get here? Why am I here?” and so on.

    This morning I was reading through this thread (for the second time) and as I came to the end of Martin’s comment, I bounced into this zone I speak of. Okay, let’s just call this zone the Twilight Zone because that’s what it seems to be. It’s strange like that you know. Anyway, while in the TZ this whole current scene that is going on with the CoS, DM, Jeff, Marty, Scn-cult.com, us, et al…is a timetrack that is so wrong. It is a timetrack that should not be happening. Yet, it is. I mean, here we all are aren’t we? But who here ever saw this coming?

    You know how when you really believe you’re going to win and you lose how it’s easy to get stuck in the loss? Then, vice versa, when you’re certain beyond all shadow of doubt that you are going to lose but then, out of the blue, you win and thereafter you can’t really get completely out of that moment. Well, when I came into Scn there was a lot about me that I wanted to handle. And although that motivation to better ‘me’ did not change, it did greatly broaden. And it broadened very quickly. It did not take very long mixing it up with this new group I had joined before I embraced the stated aims of scn as my own. And once I went there, the game became the ALL. Without a doubt it was the most important thing in the world for me to be doing. I was a good guy. I was wearing the white hat, as were all the thousands of others that were in my group and we, working in a shoulder to shoulder effort, we’re going to WIN. We were going to salvage the planet. And even though there may be numerous battles along the way with the “collective reactive mind” this group of freedom fighters, because we were there for the duration, (as well as being some damn tough cookies) would prevail. Everyone was going to win and the stated aims of scn would be realized. This is the timetrack that scn and the people on this planet were supposed to be on. Not the one we’re on now.

    Where we are now is not our future. We were never supposed to be here in 2010 writing blogs, posting comments, watching videos, about a CoS that had been somehow taken over by a pint sized madman and had morhped into a veritable cult that tortured its highest ranking staff, destroyed families, enforced abortions and told lie after lie after lie after lie. Anonymous was never supposed to come into existence. This is NOT the future we spent all those years working so hard to create! This is NOT the future we dedicated ourselves to. Yet here we are in a future that, personally, I never mocked up. At least…I don’t recall mocking this future up. How about you?

    How could so many people working so intently in a concerted focused effort to bring about a better world wind up on this timetrack where this once incredibly powerful group exists in such a rattered, tattered ineffective state?

    This is the stuff that sci-fi novels are written about. Sci maybe but ‘fi’….I’m not so sure about. The parallel universe theory is looking pretty good to me about now. I got on one train and now it appears that at some point along the way I stepped on to another identical (but not) train and I was never aware that I had done so. The first train I boarded was headed to a wonderful glorious future (OT Heaven). The other train, though, the one I unknowingly switched to, came here to this NOW.

    …………..

    I apologize for going so off topic but this flowing stream that lunamoth mentioned a while back is being traversed by me by way of various combinations of stepping stones i.e., the blog posts and all the comments. Most of the stones are stable and firm and provide for good footing from which to shove off to the next one in line. However, every now and then I happen to land on one that becomes a mini-tramp and off I go. For whatever the reason, Martin’s comment was the mini-tramp in this case. BTW, I’m still pretty much in mid air right now… just looking for the next step and hoping to bump into Dr. Who while I’m out here in the TZ. 🙂

    • AlexMetheny permalink
      April 18, 2010 12:22 am

      Wow Monte! I think you missed your calling as a writer..

      The way I look at it is this (analogy): I started to download some useful data in a program. While downloading that I also got a virus along with it that went in unnoticed by me. While I was being the “good boy” this virus allowed me to NOT-IS all the out-points going on around me. In fact the virus allowed me to put false mock ups to represent what I “thought” Scientology should be.

      Well…I got rid of the virus (anti-DM ware) and now I am cleaning up all of my corrupted files and reorganizing stuff. I still have the same goals and purposes, it’s just that I am not “blinded” by that virus anymore.

      I see Scientology as a road TOWARDS truth, not a destination. Handling out-ethics within the church is part of that path for me.

      I always knew deep down that we as a group were in for some hard times.

      I never expected us to be fighting our own people though!!

      That is what is so sick to me. DM has tried to kill off a lot of our best people, our brothers and sisters so to speak, and that cannot stand!! He stepped over a line in the sand.

      Alex

    • April 18, 2010 4:57 pm

      Alex,

      Your analogy is wonderful! Thanks for sharing that. I happen to have great affinity for analogies, metaphors and similies. 🙂

      I also very much like your statement as to scientology being a road TOWARDS truth not a destination. I agree. Although, as I make your statement my own I modify it thusly….scientology is one of many roads TOWARDS truth….

      I’m of the mind Alex, that as we continue to not only watch but pull apart this train wreck we know as scientology, that those who persevere to the end, are going to reap incredible gains across the boards. And I realize that this may sound very odd but, I expect that in the end when this train wreck plays out, that our view of DM and what he has done and will continue to do until the end, will shift dramatically. In other words, I happen to think that we will come to realize that DM in so thoroughly enmeshing himself in this role of darkenss, has served our greater good more than we, certainly at this point in the process, could ever begin to contemplate much less imagine.

      Alex, thanks too for you ack on my writing. I do write like to write and I write quite a lot. However, I do not consider myself a writer. Writing for me, is a means to reach into my universe and dig out what exactly I’m thinking about something. It’s proven to be a workable way for me to examine, re-examine and, as required, modify my various opinions and points of view on life, livingness and beyond. If you click on my name it will take you to my blog. This blog is a story that flowed out of me back in late 06′. It was a strange experience for me but as a result I never quite looked at life the same sense.

      • AlexMetheny permalink
        April 19, 2010 12:23 am

        Hi Monte,

        I will check out your writings, I guess you already had the cog that you are a writer. 🙂

        I agree that Scientology is one path toward truth.

        Another analogy that I could use is this: People are climbing a mountain toward the summit. There are a lot of paths that lead up. They are all valid to the degree that they bring you to a higher elevation. IMHO the Scientology path has lead me the highest way up the mountain. Some paths bring a person higher and then dead end at a cliff.

        The WTF moment for me was climbing the path to a high elevation and then finding out that my guide was a flesh eating zombie!! In order now for me to continue my assent I have to kill the Zombie, because he became a barrier to my assent. As far as I know, nobody has made it up this particular mountain yet.

        I will keep climbing though…

        Alex

  17. Been There permalink
    April 17, 2010 10:56 am

    Monte, Jeff, et al:

    A few days ago Rinder and Rathbun (and also Christi King Colbran) showed up at the Fort Harrison, asking to see Rinder’s son Benjamin, a SO member disconnected from his father. Like Monte, I had a down-the-rabbit-hole moment.

    First, the theatrics of it. Like the Fellowship of the Ring at the gates of Mordor. Or, a less fictional example, the Goths on the threshold of Rome. Historically, when barbarians knock on the door of Empire, the status quo changes.

    But more personally, both for me and for those two it was, as Monte said, parallel universe time. In the not so distant past Rinder and Rathbun could walk through Flag’s front door any time day or night and wipe their feet on anyone in the building, staff or public. What an SRA (severe reality adjustment, one of their former tactics) to have the door barred. I felt momentary Schadenfreude. How the mighty have fallen. But I try not to feel that emotion to often or too strongly, bad for karma and all.

    And in the spirit of what goes around comes around, being denied access to his son is exactly the operation that Mike and Marty ran on countless other Scientologists when they had the power. I wonder if Mike thought on some level, “my God, this is what it feels like to have a power beyond your control rule your life”.

    Because believe me, the fear those two generated was substantive. Fear of disconnection, fear of “loss of eternity” (man, I hate that phrase), fear of ruin. They both dished it out is spades. When I got the Marty treatment in the mid-nineties I was really afraid. But another emotion was generated then as well. And that emotion was, well. . I guess hate comes as close to it as I can describe. I hated what those two (and their minions) were doing to me personally and to other Scientologists too.

    Hate is not a good emotion. It’s karmically very bad. Jesus and Buddha were right, you do have to love your enemies in order to save them and yourself. But it is almost a pleasure moment seeing those two get a dose of their own medicine. And even though I realize it is absolutely a soul-killer to feel pleasure at another’s pain, I do feel it every time the CofS takes another hit. Or when former CofS thugs take a hit.

    And that brings me to my final (Monte’s words again) WTF comment. Inside the Fort Harrison, and down the street at the Coachman and the Sandcastle and the Oak Cove there are Scientologists, staff and public, who have that little spark of hate waiting for the right fuel to ignite it. Because so many of us have been screwed-over by the CofS and people like Marty and Mike. And even if we stuck around and tried to make it work, that little spark stayed there because no one took the trouble to extinguish it by apologizing, or making up the damage done, you know simple, courteous, civilized stuff like that).

    And the really weird and ironic thing is that Mike and Marty were screwed over too, when they were the top dogs. That little spark of hate was ignited in them. And the next thing you know, THEY are the barbarians at the gate! I almost can’t integrate the valence shifts and turn-of events going on here.

    Monte, you are so right. How did we ever get to where we got?

    • April 18, 2010 1:09 am

      Been There,

      That was a really good read. And thank you very much for being so open and honest. It’s appreciated.

      That question, “How did we ever get to where we got?” is a question that flucuates widely and rapidly in importance within my universe. There are times when arriving at an answer to that question is paramount and only moments later I could care less. In any event, though, I do expect that I will, for myself, at some point in time (or not in time) come to fully understand what happened. I will come to know exactly how I got here. In the meantime, asking the question serves me as a master key that opens up myriad doors that lead into spaces ripe for exploration. That said, I find this process of exploration to be immensely exciting and stimulating! I am continuously amazed at how much I don’t know or understand and I take this as a good indicator that I’m becoming more aware. In other words, I feel that I am finally moving from being blind and thinking I can see to realizing that I’m blind and can’t see. In my camp that’s good progress. 🙂

    • Mickey permalink
      April 18, 2010 7:03 pm

      Just Me….just curious, has there been a reach of reconciliation and peace-making and effort to apologize to you from either M or M? I know that Marty in the very beginning of his posting his blog wished greatly to do so? Don’t know if you knew that or not, but that was his intent.

      Also, in all of this unfolding process we are experiencing in comparing what was then to what is now in Scn, the paralleling universes Monte speaks of, the one simple element that is so obvious that was missing is Kindness. Nothing ever gets ultimately accomplished without it. If you read the comments of people throughout this blog and Marty’s and many of the others, both critical and supportive of Scn, what I hear and glean that is not specifically stated, is that people really, really missed in their journey in Scn was having Kindness given and received to and by them, between them and others, but especially by and for themselves. We all had to endure some extremely unkind things we did to ourselves….ultimately concluding, “I’m hurting like hell, what I’m doing to myself and allowing to be done to me is hurting like hell…and I’m not going to take it anymore”.

      The first impulse, after getting over the shock of realizing “my eternity” was NOT at stake after all if I didn’t continue “up the bridge” and there was Kindness in the world away from Scn (as it is has become today, not what it was back in the day) was to jump into exactly what Monte has so wonderfully described here. Just sort of free-wheel and be guided by some inner-self or inner-voice or whatever you want call that prompting presence we all have that says it’s really alright to not have to be afraid to reject the demands of outside “influencers”, our spiritual authorities that we, for some time, never questioned that lead us to the proverbial “WTF am I doing here” moment.

      I love these threads that Jeff starts. I think because he has been through much of what many of us are still experiencing in asking ourselves, “indeed WTF??”, his wise words and fruits of observation that create the subject matter of his articles, all contribute to the process of waking up. The process is then definitely, definitely sped along in a higher gear by all of the comments that then follow. Amazing threads here! Many thanks to you all…. 🙂

      PS. Wow…can’t believe I did that! What started out as a simple question to Just Me, “mini-tramped” (good description Monte) into the above! Sorry…..

      • Mickey permalink
        April 18, 2010 9:59 pm

        Woops…meant to address the above to Been There (not Just Me).

  18. John Doe permalink
    April 17, 2010 5:21 pm

    Another excellent article illustrating the continued failing of the church to learn from its own mistakes. Here is another horrendous example:

    Back in 1985, in LA, there was a court case, I think the Wollersheim case, where for a day or so, the judge admitted the confidential OT 3 materials into the (public) record about the case. During the time church lawyers scrambled like mad until they could appeal that decision, copies of OT 3 materials could be obtained from the court clerk by paying a nominal fee. And obtained legally!

    Had the church just let the lawyers do their business and get the order rescinded, the vulnerable moment likely would have passed unnoticed by most and that would be that.

    But no, the church organized staff members to go down to the clerk’s office to attempt to clog the counter with requests for this material, in the misguided hope that they could prevent unauthorized copies from getting out to the wrong hands. So a few hundred or so staff members were sent to clog out all others in the waiting lines.

    This spectacle quickly became newsworthy, and yes the LA times did show up, and yes , they did obtain a copy of the materials, and yes , they did a story and yes , the story published a summary of the confidential OT 3 materials. And yes , this was my first exposure to the OT 3 materials, because I happened to see the front page of the “metro” section of the LA Times laying around at work that day and I recognized a staff member in the large photo of the mob of people at the counter, so I picked it up and read it.

    I mean, look, even if you are going to attempt such a stupid tactic, why not at least have the staff attempt to dress differently, and then ask to get copies of the longest documents they could come up with about several different cases? And what about the poor staff who have in their hands fresh xeroxes of one of the great mysteries of Scientology? Surely a few took a peek.

    This debacle did more to announce the publishing of these confidential materials than anything in the church’s history.

    While the odds were against these materials remaining confidential forever, particularly in the internet age, they did it to themselves on this one.

    • Fidelio permalink
      April 17, 2010 7:59 pm

      What a story in its own! It’s beyond words…

    • April 17, 2010 9:09 pm

      I was pulled in by OSA along with other former GO staff (I wasn’t really “former GO” but I was bonded to audit, word clear and TIP GO staff) to go to Federal Court House in LA.

      Our assignment was to request what would later be known as the “Fishman Affidavit” from the clerk and view it until another former GO in our relay took over or relieved us.

      It was a simple plan. The purpose being to keep the documents out of the hands of any prying journalists by continually requesting it.

      During that time the media circus known as the OJ Trial, billed as the “trial of the century” was occurring down the street at the LA Superior Court House.

      Scientology wasn’t even on anyone’s Radar at the time but they ran this whole useless operation anyway which turned out to be futile since after the whole op was completed Arnie got ahold of them anyway and posted them all on the Internet.

      I wouldn’t say it was entirely a waste of time because the “Fishman Affidavit” was an interesting read.

      That said.

      The reason both of Wollersheim and later the Fishman ,Gertz case went to trial was due to Miscavige’s intransigence. Both cases were after the so called “victory” over Christofferson. So instead of settling out of court in the case of Wollersheim or acting with restraint in the case of Fishman and Gertz, since the latter was a suit that the Church had filed against the two parties. He decided to roll the dice and he lost.

      So if there is anyone who is responsible for the leak of confidential materials. It is David Miscavige himself, since I happen to know that the Late Earl Cooley and Marty advised him of the potential danger of the OT materials becoming part of the public record as it happened in the case of NOTs when they went after Mayo. Yet being the consummate gambler went ahead anyway.

      Anyone who just peruses policy knows that making the OT materials public is considered one of the highest crimes in Scientology and that if Miscavige was just your average Scientologist he would have been at least assigned treason for out security if not declared and expelled.

      • April 18, 2010 4:03 pm

        RJ: “Anyone who just peruses policy knows that making the OT materials public is considered one of the highest crimes in Scientology”

        Totally agree, making OT3 public was a “high crime” as per Hubbard. Hence Hubbard ‘discontent’ when the confidential materials were sort of leaked somewhere in 1968. Excerpt from Williams Burroughs’ review of Robert Kaufman’s book in 1972:

        “I remember someone named Polly Stathis who, with eight other high criminals, showed the clearing course to a psychiatrist, RON put out a Fair Game Order on them in [?] No amnesty may ever cover them. Any Sea Org member contacting them is to run R-2-45. If they ever appear in any Org they are to be run on reverse processes. (Reverse processes according to RON can drive someone insane.) They may be tricked, lied to or destroyed. They are fair game.”

        RJ: “and that if Miscavige was just your average Scientologist he would have been at least assigned treason for out security if not declared and expelled.”

        Interesting thought. Who knows if he would have then become a whistle-blower himself, spilling out *all* he did in the name of Scientology/Hubbard, and *all* he knew about the Church of Scientology’s infliction of injuries upon society in his time?

      • John Doe permalink
        April 18, 2010 4:10 pm

        Interesting, RJ. Basically what we have both described are, today, known as “denial of service attacks”, although instead of using computers to overload the servers of websites, thereby denying those sites their legitimate traffic, it is using people to do it.

        A denial-of-service attack is a prosecutable crime, one that the church pursued recently against a member of Anonymous, for orchestrating such a cyber attack against the church’s website.

      • April 20, 2010 6:06 am

        “Interesting thought. Who knows if he would have then become a whistle-blower himself, spilling out *all* he did in the name of Scientology/Hubbard, and *all* he knew about the Church of Scientology’s infliction of injuries upon society in his time?”

        R Hill,

        I’ll think you’ll be sorely if you consider Miscavige would be any kind of “whistle blower”.

        Contrary to his carefully contrived legend Miscavige barely knew Hubbard.

        Ask anyone who worked at WHQ or Over the Rainbow. The guy was a glorified gaffer.

        Much of his power came from and through Pat Broeker Ron’s personal messenger.

        Miscavige’s power came from being assigned to MAC (Mission All Clear) from where he and his friends seized and took control of the whole Scientology network in the early ’80’s.

        If there are crimes that Miscavige could blew the whistle on:

        It is those crimes he himself and his friends perpetrated.

    • April 18, 2010 12:33 am

      @John Doe – what a story! Thanks much for sharing it.

      @ RJ – thanks for adding even more dimension and singling out what was the real guiding darkness behind this debacle.

      I was thinking about the person that, obviously out of incredible desperation, came up with the ill thought out plan to clog up the system in a last ditch attempt to keep this material from getting into the public’s hands. I was wondering what must have been going through this person’s, and I’m sure several others, minds at this time. It had to have been one of the most horrible locations in time and space a scientologist could ever be in. I mean, on one hand, you’ve got the action of letting the confidential OT materials go public being, as RJ pointed out, one of the highest crimes in Scientology and who wants to even contemplate that? Then, on the other hand, these materials are of such a powerful nature, addressing diabolical incidents that every single person on this planet have in common that… if made available to the masses without the masses “being ready” for this truth of such magnitude…people upon reading this information, may start getting deathly ill, going instantly insane, commiting suicide, or just drop dead in their tracks! The possible dire ramifications of this material getting out on broad public comm lines had to be just too horrible to even begin to contemplate. Indeed, it would be much easier to confront being an accessory to commiting one of the highest crimes in Scientology. Personally, I know that if I were in such a position (believing as I did at that time) I would have rather lost my own eternity than know that I had caused the population of a planet to be laid to waste by reading the OT materials before they were ready. No doubt, if in the same circumstances as this person, operating under such pressure and facing dire consequences of such magnitude, I would have acted desperately and whatever plans that I might’ve orginated would have probably had their inherent flaws.

      You know, I haven’t really given this much thought until now, but…perhaps the fact that the OT materials did get out onto the comm lines of the broad public when they did, caused more spiritual discord on this planet than we could ever know. People, upon reading the material, didn’t necessarily get sick or keel over dead but, just maybe, they did begin to go a bit insane and start to think and act ever more destructively. Is it possible that the world would not be as insane as it is today had not the the OT materials ever gone public?

      • April 18, 2010 3:31 am

        Well Monte,

        After years of considering the whole fiasco. I personally feel to an extent the materials are safer to a greater or lesser degree in the hands of the public in general than in Miscavige and his “friends” unscrupulous hands.

        Actually at one time the Ol’man wanted to release the story of OT III as a movie. He had written a screenplay called ‘Revolt in the Stars’ back in the mid 70’s and a lot of interesting things happened at that time.

        Funny how that goes.

        Anyway suffice it to say the movie was never made.

        Additionally, after new management took over in the early ’80’s many of the original OT Levels mysteriously vanished. In other words they become “old”, “no longer used”, “historical”, having been replaced with “new” OT Levels which with the exception of one “New” OT IV are actually permutations of the same level i.e. NOTs.

        Also though I’ve never done “New” OT VIII. I know for a fact that all the materials for the level are not included in the current line up.

        Even if one didn’t know this fact. One could surmise by the “success stories” of Pre OT’s who have supposedly “completed” Scientology’s highest level, like:

        “I feel more like myself”

        Something you’d expect from running HRD, LX lists, even Grade IV but not an OT Level.

        “I feel more in control of my present time environment”

        Or

        “I no longer have any problems.”

        Grade I

        One of my favs was:

        “Every thing is beautiful”

        You know like they dropped acid or something instead of doing an OT level!

        No wonder the state gets invalidated with turkeys like these claiming to be eagles!

        I’m sure if the public who are currently shoveling over the big bucks for gains on the highest levels that we used to routinely get on the lower levels there’d probably a revolt of the stars like Cruise, Travolta and others!

        However, since Miscavige is so good at the application of the Mushroom Philosophy, i.e. keep ’em in the dark and feed ’em nothing but bull shit.

        One of the ways he does it is as Jeff pointed out on this blog is with false stats and this Idle Org stratgedy plus cutting them off from any outside information.

      • April 18, 2010 7:00 am

        RJ,

        But I’ve also heard that some of those earlier “incredible” success stories were totally made-up by the church. I chatted with an ex Sea-Org member from Flag who reached OT VII who claimed those things. He personally talked about “wins too many to list” from auditing, but not like OT-powers… more like improving your everyday life, communication etc.

      • April 18, 2010 5:10 pm

        So RJ, what was with all the secrecy regarding the OT levels materials? If the truth is that exposure to these materials does not have an adverse effect on people, was it done as a way to make them more desireable, more valuable, more expensive? Or, was it because what the materials address is so sci-fi that having that information out in the public would cause the public to view Scn as being less than genuine, a scam?

        BTW RJ, I’m Clear. And, to date, as far as I know I have never read the OT materials. Although, that said and to immediately contradict myself, I most likely have read at least some of the OT materials in part.

      • Mickey permalink
        April 18, 2010 7:18 pm

        Come one Monte….get real!! Me thinks you give this secret stuff way too much import. How many people watching their computer screens reading this material have dropped dead or contacted pneumonia? We’d have surely heard from them had they become sick or from family who happened upon their suddenly lifeless bodies drooped over their keyboards with the evidence of their demise sitting right there “glowing” on the screen!!

      • April 20, 2010 5:40 am

        Monte,

        Not to invalidate the OT levels themselves which are incredible if run correctly to their specific EPs.

        Something the Organization in its present condition is incapable of doing. I mean look at all these “OTs” who have died of cancer or have gone postal.

        Note Mickey’s comment.

        The fact is the OT Levels are safer hidden in plain sight than they are under the control of a rabid SP who uses them to control and enslave others.

        Also you are not going to die reading them. Fact is much of what is contained in the OT levels was covered in the early ’50’s.

        Its actually running them incorrectly that’ll do the most damage.

        Trust me you run a few items of R6 out of sequence. It may not kill you but after doing it you might wish you were dead.

        Any way that’s my view on the matter.

        Personally, I still respect the security of the OT Levels and have never posted anything confidential.

        However, as I wrote the OT Levels and the correct tech on how to do them is now available in the field and that’s the irony. It seems that the field has a higher degree of ethics than the Orgs right now and is to a large degree able to deliver them without perverting their intent which as we both know is total freedom and full self determinism for the individual.

        Not to create a totalitarian oligarchy which is what the current Organization has become.

  19. lunamoth permalink
    April 17, 2010 8:24 pm

    Wow, John Doe, I had never heard that one. I was there, protesting in L.A., in ’85. I wonder now how much of what we were told about the case was even true, and I know I still don’t have the story on
    the church’s crimes in the area. I’ve since read Wollersheim’s interview’s with Jesse Prince and have a different view of the whole affair.

    It does make you shake your head at the stupidity. Our own included.

    • Moving Forward permalink
      April 18, 2010 5:53 am

      Luna, I’m going through a lot of this ‘what else wasn’t true’ about these cases and big church ‘enemies’ like Vaughn Young et al. It’s hard to wrap my head around all of this. All of these people I was told were the ‘bad guys’ maybe weren’t such bad guys after all. It’s a trip.

      • April 18, 2010 5:27 pm

        Moving Forward,

        You know when you attend school as a kid and you have your various history lessons as you progress, you learn, according to your materials and teachers, who the good guys were, who the bad guys were and so on? Then, years after completing school you happen to read some other history books written by individuals not writing for school curriculums, and you discover that many of the guys that you learned were good, weren’t so good after all, and many of the guys that you learned were bad, weren’t near so bad as you were led to believe.

        When I was in the CoS all I read was what the CoS wanted and provided for me to read about what was going on within and outside the church. The CoS evaluated for me all the data that I received about the church, LRH and any members of the church. They told me what was good, what was bad, what was ture, what was a lie and so on. As a result, my own point of view was pushed aside and the church’s POV became my POV. In other words, I became a church robot!

        When you say…

        “It’s hard to wrap my head around all of this. All of these people I was told were the ‘bad guys’ maybe weren’t such bad guys after all. It’s a trip.”

        …I know very well of what you speak. It IS most definitely a TRIP!!

        Moving Forward, we have much sorting out to do and it may take a while. We had best Buckle up because I have a persistent feeling that this ride is going to get a whole lot wilder before it comes to a stop and we can all get off.

      • Heather permalink
        April 18, 2010 5:53 pm

        You guys might find it worthwhile to read the court decision on the final appeal of Larry Wollersheim’s case: http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Wollersheim_v._Church_of_Scientology

        and Tony Ortega’s article about the litigation: http://www.villagevoice.com/2008-06-24/news/Scientologys-Crushing-Defeat/full

  20. VaD permalink
    April 18, 2010 12:06 pm

    @ All the contributors to this blog

    Don’t know about you.
    For me this blog and such installments in the Internet have been the greatest motivation to live life like it was taught by LRH.
    I’m expreriencing gains. I’d call them upsurge of stolen spirituality.
    Thank you all! I love you!

    P.S. There are THREE dimensions to this life. This World is THREE Dimensional.
    CoM and followers stumble to somehow manage to do without third dimension. They base everything on LRH’s 2-dimensional texts, lectures, pictures and videos.
    They don’t see. They don’t listen. They are “tough and dedicated”.
    As I see it now, they try to “extrapolate” life and world (3D) how they really are – from LRH’s writings and lectures (2D). Weird but common.

Comments are closed.

