Skip to content

OSA Launches Their “Counter-Campaign”

March 25, 2010

OSA has launched a rather corny “letter writing” campaign, urging Scientologists to pepper the “mucky-mucks” at CNN with “heartfelt” letters following a set script. Of course, no one has actually seen the program yet, but of course OSA “knows” what it’s all about – “salacious reporting” and “gossip” from a bunch of “losers.” How they already know all about the program before it even airs is a mystery answered best by their seniors and handlers. Here’s the letter writing campaign:

Dear Friends and Family,

Anderson Cooper is doing an bullshit “expose” on our church. I have written the mucky-mucks at CNN a letter (see below). We must act on this. I urge you to write your own letter about this disgusting piece. In fact, here are the email addresses for you:

shimrit.sheetrit@turner.com
pressroom@turner.com
cnn.pr@turner.com
jim.walton@turner.com
jon.klein@turner.com

Send a copy to each of these guys. If you want to see what they are doing the show about, here’s the link.

http://www.newsonnews.net/cnn/2282-c…eadership.html

Love,

Jen

PS. Please send me a copy of your email so that I can forward it to OSA.

Dear Mr. Cooper,

I would have thought that you of all people would stay far away from tabloid journalism. I found out today that you intend to run a piece on my church that is by definition “tabloid fodder” and was shocked by it, to be honest. I have always respected your honest and forthright approach to journalism, and would never expect such titillating type gossip to come from you.

Salacious reporting has no place in a newsroom. This piece that you are doing isn’t news, it’s gossip that has been forwarded by ex-members who are a bunch of cry babies and losers. Their ethical standards did not live up the credo of our church as set forth by its founder, L. Ron Hubbard. I am a parishioner of the Church of Scientology, and was raised to be a Scientologist, as both my parents are Scientologists. I have known life both inside as a church member, and outside as a non church member.

There was a period of time as a young adult that I chose to take my own path and see what other religions had to offer me. I was never persecuted, or harassed, or followed or kept. I was wished well by many very gracious and lovely people. My parents, both upstanding, long-time Scientologists, did nothing but SUPPORT my decision, and even encourage me to see what else was out there.

I had, of course, done many of the Scientology religious services so I had a good picture of what Scientology had to give me. I studied many religions, and even gave Agnosticism a try. But ultimately, I came back to Scientology. In all my searching, I had never and still haven’t found a group more open to accepting me for ME, or more supportive of my thirst for knowledge. I found that Scientology consists of a really good group of members who want to help. And that is the group of people that I wanted to be a part of.

You go ahead and feed the masses your slops, they, I’m sure will gorge on it. But know that you are not presenting the true picture of Scientology. You can’t possibly know the life that a died-in-the-wool Scientologist lives until you see one of us in action. Don’t compare the honesty and integrity of true Scientologists to lowlifes who are bitter and unhappy because they were booted out of the group.

Thank you,

Jenny Good

Don’t you just love that belligerent, arrogant tone? “You go ahead and feed the masses your slops.” And this to Anderson Cooper, one of the most respected journalists in America – and in the world. I’m sure that will go over well.

Only Scientology would insist on a letter-writing campaign before the fact, before anyone has seen the show, before anyone knows what’s in it, or even who’s in it. “We don’t know who’s in it, but they’re a bunch of losers, whoever they are.” Very credible. And I love that touch at the end: “Please send me a copy of your email so that I can forward it to OSA.” That’s right, let’s all “report compliance” to the “order.”

Like most of Scientology’s actions, this will most likely backfire. Badly. They are promoting the show to Scientologists. And you know they’ll watch it. Most rank and file Scientologists are good people. They are intelligent, perceptive, dedicated people. How do you think they will react when they learn what really goes on at the highest levels of their Church?

Rebel

10 Comments
  1. Mat Pesch permalink
    March 25, 2010 5:34 am

    What’s Jenny Goods e-mail address so I can send her a copy of what I wrote CNN. She said that she would like to be infoed.

  2. Rebecca-Tribecca permalink
    March 25, 2010 6:12 am

    Matt ~~~
    You are always a Hoot !
    Jenny Good is Jenny Good Widmaier, Los Angeles Scientologist with many Scientology friends on her face book page.
    You can always write to her via FACEBOOK, unless OSA gets her to shut off her Emails before you write.
    http://www.facebook.com/JGwidmaier

    • March 25, 2010 6:35 am

      Oh yeah, I vaguely remember Jenny Good(dy two shoes), though people like that were pretty unreal and somewhat theety wheetie to me, since I was never in with the in crowd.

      A “Good German” or what passes for a “Good Scientologist” these days.

      Obviously she’s missed the point that the program isn’t attack against the Religion of Scientology but the incorrigible ingrate cretin who claims to be its “Pope”.

      Note she never mentioned his name.

      Possibly realizing that she may be defending the indefensible.

  3. Fidelio permalink
    March 25, 2010 11:03 am

    That’s the mind set: BEFORE the fact!
    Sec checks BEFORE the facts, before anything could have happened. Paranoic distrust since ALL are suppressive… but one. Orwellian.

    I am looking forward to seeing you all over the place, Jeff, since you come across so deeply honest and sincere. Thank you again. Fidelio

  4. robert permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:43 pm

    Anderson Cooper comments on these emails:
    http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2010/03/25/scientology-a-history-of-violence/

  5. Sinar permalink
    March 25, 2010 3:12 pm

    AC 360 already has a response to good ol trusty Jenny:

    I have already received a number of emails from church members complaining about the series, and accusing me of attacking the church, its beliefs, its membership, and its activities.

    Given that the emails are all very similar in content, I assume this is some sort of organized email campaign. None of those writing the emails have seen the series, but I appreciate hearing from all concerned viewers, and I certainly understand any church member, of any religion, being concerned about the portrayal of their beliefs.

    For the record, I just want to point out that this series is not about the beliefs or activities of the Church of Scientology. It is not about the religion or the vast majority of Scientologists. This series simply has to do with what some former high ranking church officials say went on within the upper management of the church, and what happened to them when they left the church.

    http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2010/03/25/scientology-a-history-of-violence/

  6. Fellow Traveller permalink
    March 25, 2010 3:49 pm

    Anderson has this story posted on his blog as of today: http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/blog/

    From his blog:

    “I have already received a number of emails from church members complaining about the series, and accusing me of attacking the church, its beliefs, its membership, and its activities.

    Given that the emails are all very similar in content, I assume this is some sort of organized email campaign. None of those writing the emails have seen the series, but I appreciate hearing from all concerned viewers, and I certainly understand any church member, of any religion, being concerned about the portrayal of their beliefs.

    For the record, I just want to point out that this series is not about the beliefs or activities of the Church of Scientology. It is not about the religion or the vast majority of Scientologists. This series simply has to do with what some former high ranking church officials say went on within the upper management of the church, and what happened to them when they left the church.”

  7. lunamoth. permalink
    March 25, 2010 6:04 pm

    I’m telling you, the only important thing, the only long-term effects that will come from this
    embarrassing “grassroots” letter-writing campaign, is that Jenny has now promoted the link to the story info for all those other scientologists.

    The letters/emails they write will have zero effect on the airing of the story, and will only be more bad PR for the church if they are made public as they will reinforce the image created by Tommy Davis that scientologists are nasty and shrill and foulmouthed toward critics, and that they rely on the power of personal attacks and NEVER address the issues.

    The only thing keeping dm’s house of cards together right now is the fact that he has ordered all the doors and window nailed shut to keep out the drafts. Sending people to a website that is promoting a well-researched and lawyer-proofed week-long series, that exposes the crimes of the leader of the church without attacking the religion itself, is tantamount to opening a window and throwing open a door.

    Any good scientologist reading Jenny’s letter is going to feel they have OSA’s blessing to look at the site. The truth is just a couple of clicks away at that point. And don’t think they won’t look, Jenny.

  8. sherrymk permalink
    March 25, 2010 6:08 pm

    I’ve just written to Anderson and included the link to this article.

    As usual, these pathetic efforts will have the exact opposite effect. If only the church would learn that human curiosity in “mysteries” and “don’t look there” type of communications will serve to drive people right where the church doesn’t want them to go. Evidently the church didn’t believe Hubbard when he spoke of “mystery sandwiches”. It’s the very thing that drove us all “up the bridge” ! Duh.

  9. lunamoth. permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:42 pm

    I just have to add one more thing; people LIKE and respect Anderson Cooper. He is generally viewed as a man of integrity and a rare journalist with sensitivity and a pretty highly developed sense of humanity. I mean, people REALLY like him.

    By poll, the vast majority of people DON’T LIKE THE CHURCH OF SCIENTOLOGY. And the letters and emails being “ordered” by OSA, the attacks on the character of the popular Cooper, as well as the inevitable contributions of tommy davis, are only going to confirm the rightness of both attitudes in the minds of the public.

Comments are closed.

