Skip to content

Messin’ with the Eights

August 21, 2009

So what do you do with an OT VIII?

Particularly if you don’t have OT IX and X to deliver. And no release of these levels in sight, 20 years after the release of OT VIII. That’s right, twenty years.

And particularly if you are the FSSO, sailing around half empty, desperate for income.

Well, one thing you can do is invent something called “OT IX and X Preps.”  Yes, I said invent.

Because what’s the “preparation” for OT IX and X? OT VIII.

Telling an OT VIII they have to do “OT IX and X Preps” is like telling a Grade 0 they have to do “Grade I Preps.” Ain’t no such level.

Sure, there’s something called “OT Preparations.” It’s done after Solo I and before your practice sessions on Solo II.  It’s done once. It prepares you for your “OT Levels.” Nowhere does it say you have to do “OT Preps” for each level.

But what else are you going to do with OT VIIIs when you don’t have IX and X? Hard pressure them, as the Ship is currently doing, to come for OT IX and X Preps.

So what is “OT IX and X Preparations”?

Well, pretty much anything they can think of to keep you coming back to the Ship and buying more auditing.

For the most part ­- Sec Checks. Intensive after intensive, on and on.  In fact, OT VIIIs  may well get more Sec Checks per capita than anyone. Is that because VIIIs are the most unethical people on the planet, or because they have money and the FSSO has nothing else to offer them?

Or how about PTS Handlings? Does that strike you as strange, an OT VIII, supposedly Cause Over Life, is PTS? What would they be PTS to? Yet VIIIs are told “you are PTS. Buy a PTS Rundown.”  Does  that strike you as evaluative and invalidative?

Then there’s Case Correction. “You’re case is messed up.” “You have out-tech on your case.” And so on. More evaluation and invalidation. More and more intensives of “correction” auditing. (And why is Scientology the only subject that charges you for their errors?)

And when the VIIIs are not at the Ship? Well, keep them busy – frantic even. How about “mandatory briefings” every week? To push them to select more and more and more people to Flag?

Evaluation, invalidation, mistrust, pressure, frantic briefings – sure, that’s the way to treat your highest level OTs. And when you come down to it, it’s all about money. Sell more intensives and more handlings and more correction.

Because you have a limited number of VIIIs. Because you have no new public coming to the ship. Because you’re going broke.

But the real question that OT VIIIs and Freewinds staff should both be asking is this:

What’s the real reason David Miscavige hasn’t released OT IX and X, twenty three years after these levels were announced as “fully compiled and ready for release.”

14 Comments
  1. Rebel Too permalink
    August 21, 2009 6:39 pm

    It is so interesting that you chose to write this post about Messin with the Vllls. As an OTVlll myself, it rings true with what I’ve observed. All the promotion about the release of lX and X..yrs and yrs of “it’s coming soon!” etc and now the big push to do “preps”… if indeed those levels are going to be released “soon”, then why not wait till they are so an Vlll can go right onto them? Something rings rotten here. I seriously wonder if there actually IS an OTlX and X. If Superpower, which is supposedly the “answer to world clearing” and which was supposedly taped out by LRH in the late ’70s and it’s now some 30 yrs later, then it’s not much of a reach to wonder if there actually is such a thing as the “upper OT levels” or are us Vllls are just being fed a crock of bull to keep us “in line”.

    And what you stated about “PTS”. That is so very true. If one attests to a level, OTVll, which supposedly brings you to “cause over life”, what could you possibly be “PTS” to? How does that work? What a mind screw..and as you say, inval, eval etc etc.

  2. August 22, 2009 12:15 am

    Rebel Too,

    I’m with ya man but the fact is that the Ol’man actually did fully write up OT VIII, however he left the levels above that mainly as notes in the care of Pat Broeker who was supposed to compile them into a more usable form (think of doing OT III with only the hand written notes) , who ain’t answering the phone these days.

    As far as Super Power, yes Virginia there is a Super Power but this series of rundowns was put on the back burner until auditors were trained well enough to deliver it. Of course that never happened under the regime of Davy Mass Cavige, because when he wasn’t busy adding arbitraries to training he was too busy squirreling up the processes with GAT (Grossly Altered Tech).

    The fact is Miscavige is incapable of compiling all these RDs and levels himself, because the guy is only New OT IV (for some reason he won’t let anyone audit him…hmmm…I wonder why?) and he has very little tech training (he did the levels at Saint Hill back in the early ’70’s and hasn’t done any any actual training since…go figure) plus he’s gotten rid of anyone who could (anyone seen Ray these days? I mean other than making a cameo appearance for the SP Times to lie on Dave’s behalf, or Dan Koon or any of these guys from RTRC) which leaves him with a problem. A big problem!

    So what does someone who can’t get a product themselves do when he’s shot anyone who actually could, do?

    What he’s doing now.

  3. legion permalink
    August 22, 2009 4:27 am

    I’m just wondering whether you guys are “clear,” and if clarity confers perfect recall. I’ve never seen this ability demonstrated.

    Generally speaking, I’m glad you both (the commenters) agree that current church management is a complete failure that doesn’t know what to do.

    • August 22, 2009 5:01 am

      Thanks Legion 🙂

      There was a question you asked before that. I can’t quite recall what it was?

      Really jus’ funnin’ ya.

      I think the thing is that perfect recall is a potential and can be a selective ability.

      Like I can remember every perceptic down to the exact time and location when Joe Jacobson owed me exactly twenty bucks.

      But I can’t for the life of me remember promising to mow the lawn….er….honey.

      • legion permalink
        August 22, 2009 7:41 am

        so maybe not perfect recall, but do you experience an improvement in memory? if so, wouldn’t it be possible to measure that improvement?

        plenty of other memory improvement techniques have been developed, which have then been published and studied to determine their effectiveness.

        i took a scientology course, and i’m familiar with the strong discipline and study tech. i can concede that adding extra structure and learning techniques to one’s life might improve memory over time. but it wasn’t auditing, and so it’s not what LRH was talking about when he was talking about clears and perfect recall.

        what i’m interested in is whether you experience a big jump in mnemonic ability upon becoming clear/training for clear.

      • August 22, 2009 8:31 am

        Well to tell you the truth Legion, any thing could have improved my memory before I got into Scientology, including being whacked over the head with a 2×4, ’cause I was a burned out stoner . I ‘member walking into bank once to open an account, amazing I got that far! Anyway the manager asks me what my name was and I had to check my I.D. before I could tell him…whew 🙂

        Any way there was no where to go but up!

        Eventually I did the HQS (Hubbard Qualified Scientologist) course and did the communication drills or TRs (training routines) which really helped a lot but I found what helped the most (I mean before I went clear and stuff) was the SA Lists from the book Self Analysis ’cause their all based on recalling things like times you were happy, when you were a kid being lifted by your parents and cool stuff like that and the best thing about ’em is you can pick up the book from any used book store and run ’em on yourself. You don’t have to go anyway near one of Davy’s toxic orgs.

        As far as training. There’s the TR’s that I mentioned and what are called learning drills that are in this PAB (Professional Auditors Bulletin) called “Education” that really help a lot.

        Now your question is was there a big jump in mnemonic ability when I went clear. Well to be honest Legion I’m not sure ’cause I never compared it to before when I was on the lower grades because I never tested it but I’d say yeah I can recall events with pretty good clarity in some cases almost like being there again if I want.

        I can also remember stuff like the novel I just finished reading or when I look on a book shelf and see a title I can remember reading that book.

        Before I used to get about half way through a book and realize that I’d read it before. Being a writer who does a lot of research on various topics, that ability, if you can call it that to me is like gold, ’cause it saves a lot of time avoiding the duh! factor. It also helps because I find I don’t have to take notes and things like that.

        So I have noticed some benefits from going clear.

        Hope this helps.

        Best

        R

  4. hubbardianen permalink
    August 22, 2009 2:39 pm

    Rebel,

    Are you Clear or have you reached any OT-level? I’m curious to what difference OT VIII’s for example feel from when they were WOGs. Have they ever gone exterior, better recall, what has been improved?

    I remember being in a room with people on SOLO NOTs one time for a while and the theta space was really unturbulated, that was really something.

    Anyway, thoughts?

    • Rebel Too permalink
      August 22, 2009 9:00 pm

      I’m not sure if you are asking Rebel008 or me, Rebel Too this question but if me..yes, as I stated in my post I’m OTVlll. I’ve been exterior yes, but I also had the ability to go exterior as a “wog”..anyone does. I have no doubt that the room you were in with a bunch of OTVlls and Vllls was theta. There is a certain comradery that makes us very happy when we are together. And that happiness permeates the environment for sure. That’s the one thing I miss the most, is the comradery. Having a group purpose, driving towards a common goal produces a lot of “theta”..as I’ve noticed within any group I’ve worked with that shares a common purpose, overcomes common obstacles together. Have you ever been with a group of close friends sharing stories? It’s that same kind of “theta”.

      Better recall? Sure..but sorting out the truth from the fabrication is a key factor when you get into the OT stuff. I won’t go fully into it here, but suffice it to say that you better discount anything you come up with that isn’t from this lifetime as true because when you get to OTVlll, you’ll have to find out that nothing you “recalled” in any other lifetime was true anyways.

  5. hubbardianen permalink
    August 23, 2009 5:41 pm

    Rebel Too,

    But you think your trip up to OT VIII was worth it? I’ve heard those “rumours” about the OT VIII stuff but it sounds very strange, why just don’t skip the grades and NED if it’s all just billshit? (I’ve spelled it correctly :).

    Do you have any OT capabilities at all? I’ve experienced heavy release from auditing incidents in this lifetime in Book One auditing, I did not imagine those releases, they were VERY hands-on.

    • Rebel Too permalink
      August 25, 2009 4:44 am

      What is real for you is what matters. What you yourself observe is the truth. What I experienced matters not one bit. I would not have stayed for almost 40 yrs if there wasn’t some good to it all.

      I wasn’t saying your were imagining anything. I was only letting you know what actually happens when you get to OTVlll. Since I did it, I do know what’s there.

      I wish you success in all your gains. Stick with this lifetime stuff and you should be fine.

  6. Marvin permalink
    August 26, 2009 5:25 pm

    You made a very good point in your article.

  7. Renegade permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:38 am

    Thank you all for answering some of the mystery sandwiches I had stuck to my head!

  8. a simple observant permalink
    October 17, 2009 9:45 pm

    when you know the bottom of some words, you can invent tech, policy, bridge levels and secrets on and on. everything in snc ends up being an invalidation to the truth that we are already perfect and going for betterment, whatever that is, is a statement we are not well. because that is what is hard for us to accept, it will give us some things to do. we ARE in fact well and the rest is a denial of one’s power, transfering it to others, searching it in others, delivering into their hands to tell us who we are, being conditioned by tons of programming keys. and life can be so much simpler with simpler words. it’s already perfect in its silence.

    no graded labels can really tell who we are.

Trackbacks

  1. Paranoia Strikes Deep « Leaving Scientology

Comments are closed.

